Responsible gambling

Responsible gambling

The controls that exist, ordered by how much they actually do — and an honest account of the gap every one of them leaves.

Last reviewed: 18 September 2026MawarSlotResmi Editorial Desk

In short

If you want to stop, the strongest single step is scheme-level self-exclusion: one registration that every operator bound to it must honour. Below that sit deposit limits, time-outs and reality checks, which a licensed operator is generally required to offer. None of these reaches sites outside the scheme, so blocking software and bank gambling blocks are worth adding. Support services are independent of any gambling company and several are free and confidential.

Start with the strongest thing available

The tools are not interchangeable, and a common mistake is starting with the weakest because it is the least final. If your intention is to stop, go to the top of this list.

  1. Scheme-level self-exclusion — one registration covering every operator bound to the scheme. Available in Great Britain, Sweden, the Netherlands, Denmark and Ontario among the jurisdictions covered here.
  2. Blocking software and bank gambling blocks — these work regardless of where a site is licensed, which is precisely the gap every scheme leaves.
  3. Operator-level self-exclusion — the route where no scheme exists, and immediate with the operator you contact.
  4. Deposit and loss limits — a boundary rather than a stop, and generally slow to loosen.
  5. Time-outs and reality checks — short breaks and in-session reminders. The lightest of the tools.

The tools, and what each one actually does

What differs by jurisdiction

Almost everything specific about these tools is jurisdiction-specific, and figures quoted without a country attached are usually wrong somewhere. A few documented examples:

Examples of how the same tool differs between jurisdictions, as documented on 18 September 2026
ToolDocumented variation
Delay on increasing a deposit limitAt least 24 hours in Great Britain and Ontario; at least one week in the Netherlands. A decrease takes effect immediately in Great Britain and the Netherlands.
Minimum self-exclusion periodSix months for GAMSTOP and Cruks; ten days for Spelpaus; from 24 hours for ROFUS.
Ending an exclusion earlyNot possible before the chosen date with Spelpaus; possible with Cruks once the first six months have passed; GAMSTOP requires you to contact it plus a cooling-off period.
Cross-provider limitsGermany operates a cross-provider monthly deposit ceiling enforced through a central limit file — a structurally different approach from per-operator limits.
Stake limitsGreat Britain is the only jurisdiction here with a confirmed online slots stake limit, set at a lower figure for under-25s.
Reality check intervalWidely required as a facility; rarely fixed to a number. Great Britain requires the default to be the minimum of the range the operator offers.

Each figure belongs to the jurisdiction named against it and should not be generalised. The jurisdiction pages carry the position for each market.

Controls that sit outside gambling regulation

Every scheme on this site binds only the operators its regulator licenses. Two further layers do not have that limitation, and regulators themselves point to both.

  • Blocking software

    Blocks gambling sites at the device level, so it works regardless of where a site is licensed — closing exactly the gap a national scheme leaves. Great Britain’s regulator names Gamban among the tools it lists.

  • Bank and card gambling blocks

    Many banks let you switch gambling transactions off. Great Britain’s regulator lists eleven named banks offering some form of block, with the friction needed to reverse it varying between them.

Support is separate from any gambling company

An important structural point: the support services listed on this site are operated by health bodies, charities and peer networks, not by gambling operators. That matters, because a gambling company’s own “responsible gambling” page is a compliance obligation rather than a support service.

Gambling help and support records who operates each service, what it actually offers, whether it is free, and how to reach it. Where we could not verify a service’s current status, that is stated rather than the entry being quietly dropped.

What these tools do not do

Overstating them would be its own kind of harm.

  • No scheme blocks gambling worldwide. Every one binds the operators its regulator licenses, and the sites most likely to accept an excluded person are exactly the ones outside it.
  • A limit does not make gambling safe. It bounds one dimension of one account.
  • A reality check is a reminder, not an intervention. It tells you how long you have been playing and nothing more.
  • Tools are not treatment. They control access. If gambling has become compulsive, that is a health matter, and the services listed separately exist for it.
  • Registration is not instant. Operators check registers on their own cycle, and existing accounts still need closing.
  • This site is not a support service. We are an informational resource with no ability to exclude you from anything or intervene with any operator.

Primary sources

Each link below goes to the issuing authority’s own website. Where a page could not be retrieved by our automated checks, that is stated rather than hidden.

  • Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario Information Bulletin: AGCO Sets iGaming Standards for Centralized Self-Exclusion Program
    Sets only three terms for the centralized program: six months, one year and five years. iGaming Ontario's BetGuard launch announcement additionally mentions a custom term. The conflict is unresolved, so a custom term must not be described as a standards-mandated option. The bulletin also gives no effective date for the standards.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario (AGCO) Limit Setting Features — AGCO responsibilities and resources
    No page-level last-updated date; the page marks the standard itself as amended February 2022, which is the only date it displays. Ontario limits bind the operator they are set with — they are not a cross-operator cap.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario (AGCO) Registrar's Standards for Internet Gaming — full-text export
    A generated full-text export URL rather than a named page — re-check it before each publication. Numbering conflict: this export presents the responsible-gambling standards under one numbering while another AGCO page presents the same subject matter under a different one, and the export states it contains no standards in the other series. Cite AGCO requirements by their wording, not by number, until this is resolved.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario (AGCO) Responsible Gaming standards for internet gaming — AGCO
    Carries the cooling-off, breaks-in-play and marketing standards, one of them marked as updated December 2021. It is the other half of the AGCO numbering conflict described on the full-text export entry: both pages are AGCO's, and which numbering governs internet gaming was not resolved.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario (AGCO) Self-Exclusion and Breaks in Play — AGCO
    Sets out the operator duties for Centrally Self-Excluded Persons (no new or existing account access, wagers cancelled and refunded within 24 hours with narrow exceptions, marketing stopped within 24 hours) and names iGaming Ontario as registry administrator. Term lengths are given as six months, one year and five years, but iGaming Ontario's own launch announcement for the live product adds 'a custom term' — treat the three-option list as incomplete and attribute each version.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA) Online gambling services — ACMA
    Timed out after 60 seconds; no content retrieved and the title is the researcher's label. ACMA is the enforcement authority for the Interactive Gambling Act and for BetStop obligations, so its absence from the verified material is a real gap in the Australian picture.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · uncertain
  • Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board (NHS Wales) A new gambling treatment service and 24/7 helpline is going live for people across Wales
    Published 31 March 2026: the source for the Wales helpline number and its 24/7 availability. It also gives referral routes, which are not crisis numbers and should not be presented as such.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • BetStop (Australian Government) BetStop — the National Self-Exclusion Register
    Thin homepage. Coverage is all licensed Australian online and phone gambling providers, who may not accept a bet, open an account or send marketing. Durations are not stated on the page — the minimum, the maximum and whether a lifetime option exists are all unverified, so do not state them.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust National Gambling Clinic — Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust
    HTTP 403 to automated retrieval, re-confirmed. Because the clinic's own page could not be read, its official name is unsettled across the sources that can be read: the Gambling Commission calls it the National Problem Gambling Clinic and GambleAware's finder calls it the NHS National Gambling Clinic. Age range, geographic eligibility and referral route are unverified.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · bot-blocked
  • ConnexOntario Problem Gambling Support Services in Ontario — ConnexOntario
    Free, confidential, 24/7, funded by the Government of Ontario and Ontario Health — and explicitly an information and referral line, not a counselling provider. Use the confirmed wording of what a caller gets (supportive listening, information and referrals before being connected to a community programme); a more specific phrase used in earlier notes could not be reproduced on re-fetch.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Department for Culture, Media and Sport (GOV.UK) Statutory gambling levy — GOV.UK publication
    Published 18 December 2025, updated 26 March 2026. Sets out how levy funding is split between treatment, prevention and research. It says nothing about GambleAware, so it cannot be cited for that charity's status or closure.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Department of Social Services (Australian Government) Gambling reforms — Department of Social Services
    The connection was reset (ECONNRESET) on every attempt, so nothing was read: the title above is the researcher's label, not a title read from the page. This is the source for Australia's National Consumer Protection Framework measures and their commencement dates, all of which are therefore unverified here. Published as a record of what could not be retrieved, not as a supported citation.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · bot-blocked
  • Department of Social Services (Australian Government) Information about online gambling regulation — Department of Social Services
    Connection reset (ECONNRESET), the third failed fetch on the same government host — nothing was read and the title is the researcher's label. Recorded so the gap in the Australian material is visible rather than silently filled from secondary sources.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · bot-blocked
  • Department of Social Services (Australian Government) National Consumer Protection Framework for Online Wagering — National Policy Statement
    The request timed out after 60 seconds and no content was retrieved, so neither the page's existence nor its contents are confirmed here; the title is the researcher's label. It is the authoritative list of the framework's measures, including anything about deposit limits, activity statements and cooling-off periods — none of which may be stated from this research.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · uncertain
  • GambleAware GambleAware homepage — gambling harm support
    Live, with no closure banner, and still the Gambling Commission's link target, despite the charity's own statement that its work has transitioned to new commissioners. Brand continuity is not organisational continuity — but do not tell readers the site is gone.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • GambleAware GambleAware statement on the new statutory gambling harms system and the future of the charity
    The charity describing itself, not a regulator describing it. It gives no closure date and no end date for the National Gambling Support Network it says it designed and funded. Trade-press assertions of a specific closure date are not evidence and are not used.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • GambleAware Get help now — GambleAware
    The page carries a deliberate two-nation split, not a contradiction: an England-and-Scotland section and a Wales section, each with its own number, its own provider and a mirror-image residents-only sentence. It does not say who currently funds or commissions the helpline — do not assert a funder.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • GambleAware Service finder results — all GambleAware support providers
    Appending a postcode does not filter this page. Fetched bare and with two different postcode query strings on the same day, it returned the identical unfiltered national list of 35 providers each time — independently reproduced in the verification pass. Link it only as a stable 'view all providers' page, never as a pre-filtered local result.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • GambleAware Support in your area — GambleAware service finder
    The working entry point: type a postcode into the field labelled 'Postcode field' and search. JavaScript is required — the filtering happens in the browser, and there is no URL that arrives pre-filtered.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • GambleAware The National Gambling Support Network — GambleAware
    Describes the network as spanning Great Britain and states that its services are available only to Great Britain residents — a wider framing than the England-and-Scotland restriction on the same charity's Get help now page. Residual tension between the two pages is worth stating on the site.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gamblers Anonymous Great Britain Gamblers Anonymous Great Britain
    A fellowship, not a clinical or statutory service. Separate bodies exist for GA Scotland and GA Ireland, and Gam-Anon is the separate fellowship for family and friends. Meetings need no appointment; the site does not state a fee, so 'free' must not be quoted to it.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission Block gambling payments with your bank
    Stale for a fast-moving subject: roughly 19 months old at the date checked, and bank product features change. Present the eleven named banks as 'as listed by the Commission on 25 February 2025', never as current fact. It is an information page, not a tool — there is no search interface.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission Commission to introduce Financial Risk Assessments in staged approach
    GB affordability checks are not a settled regime: this announces a staged approach with the timetable to be confirmed after industry engagement and no enforcement for failure to act in the early stages. The stage-one threshold given applies to players aged 25 and over; whether a lower figure applies to 18 to 24 year olds is unverified.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission Free multi operator and national self-exclusion schemes
    The freshest GB page in this set. Lists the sector schemes and their joining routes, including the telephone numbers. Two points the verification pass insisted on: the bingo scheme's own name is BISES (Bingo Industry Self-Exclusion Scheme), and betting-shop self-exclusion is area-based, not national in the way GAMSTOP Online is. Durations for the land-based schemes are not stated.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission LCCP 3.3.4 – Remote time-out facility (licence condition)
    No date shown on the page. This is the condition that caps a GB time-out; a time-out is not a self-exclusion, and conflating the two misstates both.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission LCCP 3.5.3 – Self-exclusion, remote social responsibility code
    No date shown. The binding social responsibility code for operator-level self-exclusion in remote gambling, including closing the account and returning the balance.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission LCCP 3.5.4 – Self-exclusion, remote ordinary code
    No date shown. Status matters here: the familiar GB minimum self-exclusion period lives in an ordinary code, not a licence condition, so presenting it as a legal requirement overstates it.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission LCCP 5.1.12 – Direct marketing preferences (licence condition)
    No date shown. The GB requirement on marketing preferences, relevant because several other jurisdictions bundle a marketing block into self-exclusion itself.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission LCCP condition 3.5.5 — Remote multi-operator self-exclusion (social responsibility code)
    The provision requires participation in 'the national multi-operator self-exclusion scheme' and does not name GAMSTOP — writing that 3.5.5 requires operators to join GAMSTOP is an interpretation, not a quotation. It applies to remote licences subject to a nine-item exception list. No version or effective date is shown on the condition page.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission New rules boosting safety and consumer choice (Gambling Commission news)
    Regulator's own announcement (article dated 1 May 2024, last updated 31 January 2025) of changes including the autoplay position. Its dating is the reason the RTS 13 autoplay wording is recorded as an unresolved conflict rather than a settled point.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission Online slots stake limit guidance
    The only confirmed, dated, legally grounded online slots stake figures in this research, and they apply to online slots in Great Britain only — not to roulette, blackjack or any other jurisdiction. The statutory instrument number behind the limit was not verified; only its title.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission Organisations that can help — Gambling Commission
    Recently updated but carries at least one description the levy transition has overtaken: it still calls the National Problem Gambling Clinic jointly commissioned by GambleAware and NHS England, and its name for the clinic differs from both the trust's and GambleAware's. Numbers are printed here as the Commission prints them, including non-standard spacing. Samaritans appears as a general crisis line, not a gambling service.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission Remote gambling and software technical standards — index of RTS 1 to 17
    The index that shows how the individual RTS sections fit together and which ones exist; the substantive requirements are on the individual pages.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission RTS 12 – Financial limits (Remote gambling and software technical standards)
    The GB source for deposit-limit mechanics, including the asymmetry that matters to players: a decrease applies immediately while an increase is delayed. Everything here is Great Britain only and must be attributed to it.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission RTS 13 – Time requirements and reality checks
    Served from a /manual/ path while the neighbouring RTS pages sit under /standards/ — check the link still resolves before each publication. It requires a reality-check facility with a default at the minimum of the offered range but pins no interval in minutes: any page stating a fixed national interval is inventing it. Its autoplay-acknowledgement wording sits awkwardly beside the Commission's later autoplay ban and is recorded here as an unresolved conflict.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission RTS 14 – Responsible product design
    The freshest of the RTS pages read. It carries minimum game-cycle speeds but no mandatory break in play for online slots — do not claim GB requires one — and no commencement date was found for the non-slot casino minimum.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission Safer Gambling — Gambling Commission
    No last-updated date. Both helplines appear with their nation labels — England and Scotland, and Wales — which is the boundary spelled out, so the Commission cannot be said to list them without explanation. A destination label recorded in the original research could not be reproduced on re-fetch (the heading seen was 'Help and support'); do not publish that label as the Commission's wording.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission Self-exclusion — Gambling Commission guidance for the public
    Distinguishes the online scheme from the area- and sector-scoped land-based multi-operator schemes, which it does not name. This refreshed page writes the online scheme's name as 'GAMSTOP ONLINE', while other Commission pages and this register still use 'GAMSTOP' — check the current branding before publication.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission Self-exclusion in social responsibility — Gambling Commission guidance for licensees
    Thin and visibly stale — last updated 18 June 2021, over five years old at the date checked. The operative wording is in the individual LCCP condition pages, which are the better citation.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission Self-exclusion with GAMSTOP — Gambling Commission
    Stale, and it conflicts with the LCCP: this page says 'All gambling businesses must participate in this scheme', while social responsibility code provision 3.5.5 applies to remote licences subject to a nine-item exception list. The conflict is recorded, not resolved — describe the LCCP scope and note the exceptions rather than publishing either version as settled.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission View playing history and restrict or block gambling activity
    The only device-blocking product named by an official regulator page reached in this research (GamBan). GamCare's own blocking-software page returned 403, so no further tool names are verified from any source here.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • GamCare Blocking software — GamCare self-help
    HTTP 403 to automated retrieval, as with every other GamCare path tried — site-wide bot protection, not a dead page. Because it could not be read, no blocking-tool names from GamCare are usable; the only officially named tool in this research comes from the Gambling Commission's own page.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · bot-blocked
  • GamCare GamCare homepage — support for anyone affected by gambling harms
    HTTP 403 to automated retrieval, independently reproduced. Every GamCare fact used anywhere in this research is therefore second-hand, from the Gambling Commission, the NHS and GambleAware: helpline hours, channel availability, current commissioner and the Wales position could not be confirmed on GamCare's own authority.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · bot-blocked
  • GamCare Talk to us now — GamCare helpline and live chat
    HTTP 403, the second GamCare path refused, which shows the blocking is site-wide rather than a dead page. The contact routes and their hours could not be read here.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · bot-blocked
  • GAMSTOP About | Gamstop Online
    States a range of 'from 6 months up to 5 years' with an automatic renewal option, and that 'Once you've registered, you cannot cancel your registration during the exclusion period.' It does not enumerate discrete durations and does not state an activation delay. Note what the scheme actually blocks: signing up for or using online accounts with gambling companies licensed in Great Britain. It does not make gambling websites unreachable, and copy that says so sets a false expectation.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • GAMSTOP Gamstop Online — national online self-exclusion scheme homepage
    The scheme's own site, authoritative for its corporate identity but not the regulator: it is operated by The National Online Self Exclusion Scheme Limited, Registered No. 10504973. The site now leads with the brand 'Gamstop Online'.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • GAMSTOP Participating companies | Gamstop Online
    A static alphabetical list with no search control and no query-string parameter: use the browser's own find-in-page. It is not a licence register — presence on it is an integration fact, not a regulatory endorsement, and the list goes stale between updates.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • GAMSTOP Terms of Use | Gamstop Online
    The strongest official statement that a national scheme does not reach non-participating operators, plus the exact period options, the deactivation request and 24-hour cooling-off, and the seven-year post-exclusion notification period. One qualification from the verification pass: the Terms enumerate a single 'home address (including post code)', so advice to enter every address ever used is unsupported — the multiple-entry requirement is explicit only for email addresses and mobile numbers.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • GAMSTOP What is self-exclusion? — GAMSTOP help centre article
    Returned HTTP 403 Forbidden to automated requests and the body was not retrieved. This is the page that would settle the discrete self-exclusion durations, any activation delay and post-expiry retention; until a human opens it in a browser, none of those are stated here.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · bot-blocked
  • Gemeinsame Glücksspielbehörde der Länder (GGL) FAQ zur Erhöhung des anbieterübergreifenden Einzahlungslimits bei Online-Glücksspielen und zur Prüfung der wirtschaftlichen Leistungsfähigkeit
    German-language page. It explains the tiers above the standard cross-provider ceiling and the proof of economic capability they require, but it does not state how long a German limit change takes to take effect, and it cites the legal basis for stake limits without giving the figure — neither may be filled in.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gemeinsame Glücksspielbehörde der Länder (GGL) Konsolidierte Fassung des Glücksspielstaatsvertrags 2021 mit Änderungen von 2022 (PDF)
    Downloaded (196 KB) but not parsed — no text was read, so nothing on this site rests on its contents. It is the document that would settle the German limit-increase delay, the per-spin stake cap and any mandatory break in play. The filename encodes a version date, so the link is likely to change at the next consolidation.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gemeinsame Glücksspielbehörde der Länder (GGL) Spielerschutz: Die Spielerschutzmaßnahmen des GlüStV 21 im Überblick
    German-language page; translation is the researcher's. Germany is structurally different from the other jurisdictions here: a cross-provider monthly deposit ceiling enforced through central files, rather than a limit set with one operator. Those files are back-end supervisory systems, not consumer lookups — no interface was seen. The page does not state a mandatory break in play.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gordon Moody Gambling Therapy — online support for gambling harms worldwide
    Explicitly a charity (Gordon Moody, registered charity No. 1124751), not a regulator or statutory body in any jurisdiction, and must be labelled as such wherever it sits beside regulators. The homepage lists 39 language forums. It shows no one-to-one counselling, group meetings, app or staffed hours, so no 24/7 or live-chat claim can be made from it.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • iGaming Ontario BetGuard — centralized self-exclusion for Ontario iGaming (iGaming Ontario news)
    Confirms the 14 May 2026 launch, the 19+ eligibility and coverage of all Ontario regulated igaming sites including OLG. It does not mention land-based or in-person casinos anywhere, so the land-based carve-out must be cited to OLG's My PlayBreak page instead. It lists a custom term that AGCO's standards bulletin does not.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • iGaming Ontario Find Help — iGaming Ontario
    No last-updated date. Lists the crisis line, BetGuard, ConnexOntario, CAMH, Credit Canada and two blocking tools; PlaySmart and OLG are not named here, so do not assert them from this page. A quoted description of CAMH's service used in earlier notes did not appear on re-fetch — the page describes CAMH only as offering specialised services for Ontarians whose gambling has caused difficulties.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • iGaming Ontario Opt out of online gambling in Ontario | BetGuard
    The site resolves but returned only a JavaScript shell — the document title above and a skip link were all that could be read. Its screens, fields and enrolment flow are undocumented in this research and must not be described. The title is the page's own <title> as returned.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · js-only
  • Kansspelautoriteit Veelgestelde vragen Beleidsregel verantwoord spelen 2024 — FAQ on the responsible play policy rule
    Dutch-language page. It confirms the net deposit ceiling of 700 euro a month and the duty to block further deposits beyond it. The lower figure widely quoted for players aged 18 to 24 does not appear on this page and is not published here.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Kansspelautoriteit Veilig spelen — playing safely, from the Dutch gambling regulator
    Dutch-language page.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Kansspelautoriteit (Ksa) Beleidsregels onvrijwillige inschrijving Cruks | Kansspelautoriteit
    Dutch-language page covering involuntary registration in Cruks, linked to Dutch legal identifier BWBR0045439, in force from 1 October 2021. It states who may request it and the necessity test, but neither the duration of an involuntary registration nor the detailed procedure — do not state either.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Kansspelautoriteit (Ksa) Gokproblemen en dan? | Kansspelautoriteit
    HTTP 403 with and without a trailing slash, re-confirmed independently, while the parent Veilig spelen page loaded — per-path blocking. The Ksa's dedicated gambling-problems content is therefore unread here.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · bot-blocked
  • Kansspelautoriteit (Ksa) Gokstop voor een ander aanvragen | Kansspelautoriteit
    HTTP 403 to automated retrieval, while other pages on the same host loaded — this is per-path blocking, not a dead page. It is the consumer-facing procedure for requesting a gambling stop for another person, so that procedure is undocumented here.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · bot-blocked
  • Kansspelautoriteit (Ksa) Neem een gokstop met Cruks | Kansspelautoriteit
    Dutch-language only; no English Ksa page on Cruks was reached. Corrected by the verification pass: the lock-in is the first six months, not the full chosen term — the page says cancellation is possible once the first six months have passed. A Dutch sentence the original research attributed to this page, stating that the gokstop cannot be ended earlier, could not be found on two independent readings and is not used here. The page also documents DigiD versus paper registration and that the exclusion ends automatically at the end of the enrolment.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Kansspelautoriteit (Ksa) Uitsluitregister Cruks | Kansspelautoriteit
    Dutch-language page, aimed mainly at providers: they need a Cruks code and check on citizen service number (BSN), name and date of birth. Coverage is 'alle online kansspelaanbieders en speelautomatenhallen in Nederland en voor Holland Casino' — the verification pass corrected the wording from 'speelhallen'. 'Alle' means all Dutch-licensed providers; the page does not extend coverage beyond the Netherlands.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Kansspelautoriteit (Ksa) WK-campagne Loket Kansspel | Kansspelautoriteit (nieuwsbericht)
    A regulator news item from November 2022, kept only as dated evidence that the Dutch support service formerly called Loket Kansspel is the one now signposted under a new name. Neither Ksa page prints a phone number for the service, and the service's own site could not be reached (TLS chain error), so its hours, funding and contact details are unverified.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Leeds and York Partnership NHS Foundation Trust NHS Northern Gambling Service
    Gives the clinic locations, therapy model, session count and referral email. It does not state an age range and does not explicitly confirm that self-referral is accepted — neither may be asserted.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Malta Gaming Authority National Gambling Helpline (1777) launched by Responsible Gaming Foundation
    Eleven years old. Its 24/7 description is a forward-looking statement from 2015 that no source checked has ever confirmed as delivered, and it must not be reported as current fact about the helpline's hours.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Malta Gaming Authority Player Protection — Malta Gaming Authority (Licensee Hub)
    States that once a player has exhausted the internal process, operators 'must offer the opportunity to refer any dispute to a registered ADR entity', and names the Player Protection Directive (Directive 2 of 2018) as the governing instrument. The licensee's own 'Player Support team' here is a different thing from the MGA's 'Player Support Unit'. This page is also the only place on any fetched MGA page where the figure 18 appears, and it appears inside a marketing-conduct rule rather than as a stated statutory minimum age. No last-updated date.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Malta Gaming Authority Remote Gaming: Is a self-exclusion applied across all brands operated by a Licensee? (MGA FAQ)
    The most important player-protection source for Malta, and the reason Malta must not be compared to jurisdictions with a national scheme: a self-exclusion covers all brands of one licensee, and the Authority only 'encourages Licensees to emphasise with players that they should also exclude any accounts they hold with all other Licensees', pointing additionally to third-party blocking software. There is no national cross-licensee self-exclusion register.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Malta Gaming Authority Safer Gambling — Malta Gaming Authority (Player Hub)
    Defines deposit, wagering, loss and time limits, hosts a nine-step self-assessment questionnaire as an anchor on the page, and carries the land-based self-barring description. Two cautions about the support organisations it names: the Responsible Gaming Foundation's own site carries notices of its absorption into the MGA, so it is not plainly arms-length from the regulator, and the MGA's outbound SEDQA link returned HTTP 403 and could not be checked. No last-updated date.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Malta Gaming Authority Self-Barring — Malta Gaming Authority (Player Hub)
    Online-oriented: it describes self-exclusion as blocking access to 'the gaming website which the player has excluded with', and publishes the Self-Barring Request Application Form (MGA-F-006) and the Self-Barring Auto-Renew Removal Form (MGA-F-015). The land-based self-barring sentence is on the Safer Gambling page, not this one. No last-updated date, and the land-based renewal mechanics are not stated anywhere.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • NHS Help for problems with gambling — NHS
    Stale: the page shows 'Last reviewed: 8 December 2023' with the next review due 8 December 2026, so it predates the statutory-levy transition and must not be relied on for who funds treatment today. It names the regional NHS services but states no age range. Its GamStop wording is three discrete options — 6 months, 1 year or 5 years — not a range; the verification pass flagged the earlier '6 months to 5 years' rendering as a misquotation.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation My PlayBreak — OLG's self-exclusion tool
    OLG is a Crown agency and operator, not the regulator, so cite this as the scheme's own authority rather than as a regulatory source. It is the only verified source for the statement that BetGuard does not cover land-based casinos, and it publishes two enrolment numbers: 1-800-387-0098 for casinos and 1-855-978-7529 for OLG.ca. Its term lists are longer than AGCO's summary of them. No last-updated date; only a 2026 copyright line.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Overheid.nl (Dutch government legal database) Besluit kansspelen op afstand — consolidated text of 15 July 2022 (article 4.14 on limits)
    The Dutch decree itself, and the source of the rule that a Dutch limit increase is delayed while a decrease is immediate. The URL pins one consolidated version: check whether a later consolidation has changed article 4.14 before republishing anything from it.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Responsible Gaming Foundation Responsible Gaming Foundation Malta
    Organisation in transition. The site still publishes the national helpline number and is still the route the MGA names, but it states that certain services will be unavailable because of the change, is not accepting donations, marks funding calls closed pending absorption into the MGA, and shows nothing newer than 2024. Operating hours are published nowhere on the site — do not claim the line is 24/7.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Spelinspektionen Responsible Gambling and duty of care — Spelinspektionen (English)
    States an 18 minimum for gambling and a 20 minimum for entry to Casino Cosmopol. The figure 20 was not found in the Gambling Act text, so its legal basis is unestablished and must not be attributed to that Act.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Spelinspektionen Spelpaus.se — This is how it works
    Durations are 10 days, 1, 3 or 6 months, or until further notice (at least 12 months). A self-exclusion cannot be cancelled or ended early; it may be replaced with a longer one but never shortened, and a fixed-term exclusion ends automatically on its end date.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Spelinspektionen Spelproblem — hjälp vid spelberoende (Spelinspektionen)
    Swedish-language only. It refers readers to Stödlinjen and Spelpaus, and to the peer-support organisations spelberoende.se and spelberoendegruppen.com, which were not fetched and are therefore not linked here.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Spelinspektionen Welcome to Spelpaus.se — English entry point for Swedish self-exclusion
    Registration is confirmed with Swedish e-identification (Mobilt BankID, BankID, Freja eID+ or a foreign eID) and the FAQ states a Swedish personal identity number is needed. An alternative route for people without e-identification is signposted but was not opened.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Spelinspektionen (Swedish Gambling Authority) Guidance: duty of care — Spelinspektionen (PDF)
    Downloaded (1.5 MB) but not parsed — no text was read and nothing here rests on its contents. It is the document a human should open to establish the Swedish duty-of-care detail this research could not verify.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Spelinspektionen (Swedish Gambling Authority) SGA regulations in English — Spelinspektionen
    The English-language regulations index. Note what it could not deliver here: the Swedish Gambling Act and Ordinance translations linked from the regulator's document store both returned HTTP 404, so Sweden's statutory deposit-limit structure and any waiting period before an increase remain unverified and must not be stated.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Spelinspektionen (Swedish Gambling Authority) The SGA's situation report — online gambling outside the licensed market (PDF)
    Downloaded as a 733 KB binary PDF but never parsed — no text was read and no claim on this site rests on its contents. Listed because it is the likeliest official Swedish source on people gambling outside the licensed market despite an exclusion; a human must open it before anything is quoted from it.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Spillemyndigheden National Helpline for Gambling Problems: StopSpillet
    The English description of the authority's own free and confidential helpline, which serves players, relatives and professionals. It lists live chat on Monday to Thursday only, while the helpline's own site also shows a Friday chat window; both were observed independently and the conflict is unresolved, so both should be shown. No last-updated date is shown.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Spillemyndigheden (Danish Gambling Authority) Gratis behandling af spilafhængighed (ludomani)
    Danish-language page. The regulator funds and routes to treatment providers but does not run them. Despite the page title, it does not itself say who pays, and it states no age or eligibility rules — do not fill those gaps.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Spillemyndigheden (Danish Gambling Authority) Hjælpelinje til spilafhængige skifter hænder (nyhed)
    Danish-language news item from December 2018, useful only to explain why older material still names the previous helpline operator. Eight years old at the date checked.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Spillemyndigheden (Danish Gambling Authority) What is ROFUS? — the register of voluntarily excluded players
    Link this path: https://www.rofus.nu/en/ returned HTTP 500 on two independent attempts. Confirmed here: the durations, the coverage boundary (operators licensed by the Danish Gambling Authority, plus Danish land-based casinos and betting), MitID or form 9-01 registration, the automatic 'No thanks to gambling ads' marketing block, and the two-step deletion of a permanent exclusion. Write MitID, not NemID. An unfetched Spillemyndigheden technical PDF appeared in search snippets to give a different minimum for temporary exclusion; that conflict is unresolved and must not be reconciled in print.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Stödlinjen Stödlinjen — Sweden's national support line for gambling problems
    Run by the Stockholm regional health service with support from the Public Health Agency of Sweden — not by the gambling regulator. Free and anonymous, for players and relatives, in Swedish, English and Arabic plus interpreter languages. Opening hours were not verified.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Welsh Government Gambling helpline and specialist treatment service to be launched in Wales
    Published 25 February 2026. Announces the service and its funding but prints no helpline number and does not confirm 24/7 operation — those come from the health board's own page.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable