Compliance

Age verification and minimum gambling ages

There is no universal gambling age — the minimum depends on where the operator is licensed and, often, on which product you are playing.

Last reviewed: 18 September 2026MawarSlotResmi Editorial Desk

In short

There is no universal gambling age. The minimum depends on the jurisdiction and, inside a jurisdiction, often on the product. The Gambling Commission states that “in most cases” the minimum legal age in Great Britain is 18 — while its own guidance records no minimum age for players of category D gaming machines. Ontario sets 19 for casino and internet gaming, with a narrow exception at 18 for buying a lottery ticket. Where no official page we read stated an age, this page says so rather than filling the gap.

The Great Britain rule: verified before you gamble

Great Britain has the most explicit regulator wording we could read on when the check must happen. A social responsibility code provision requires a remote licensee to verify a customer’s age before that customer may do any of three things.

  1. Before depositing

    Age must be verified before the customer may “deposit any funds into their account”. Not at withdrawal, and not at some later review — before money goes in.

  2. Before free-to-play versions

    It also applies before the customer may access free-to-play versions of gambling games the licensee makes available. Secondary summaries routinely drop this limb: a demo or play-money version is inside the rule.

  3. Before gambling — including on a bonus

    Verification is required before the customer may “gamble with the licensee using either their own money or any free bet or bonus”. Playing only with bonus credit does not put a customer outside the requirement.

The provision also requires the licensee to warn that underage gambling is an offence, to review its age-verification systems regularly, to train staff, and to ensure its websites work with filtering software.

Why Great Britain has no single age

Age limits here are set product by product, and no single official page we found sets them all out. The Commission’s own hedge — “In most cases” — is doing real work.

Great Britain: minimum ages attributable to a named official page
Product or venueOfficial source statesSource and date shown
Casinos, betting shops, bingo halls, race tracks, online gambling, some types of arcade18 “in most cases”Gambling Commission consumer guidance, updated 3 June 2021
Category A, B and C gaming machines, including category B3A lottery-style games“a minimum age of 18 for all players”Guidance to licensing authorities, Part 16, updated 14 September 2023
Category D gaming machines“no minimum age for players”Guidance to licensing authorities, Part 16, updated 14 September 2023
Entry to an adult gaming centreNo person under 18 may enterGuidance to licensing authorities, Part 21, updated 14 June 2023
National Lottery productsMinimum age of sale raised from 16 to 18, in force 1 October 2021DCMS consultation response, published 8 December 2020

The National Lottery sits under a separate statutory regime from Gambling Act 2005 operating licences, so its age is not a Gambling Commission licence age in the sense the rows above it are.

Minimum ages by jurisdiction

Each figure is tied to the authority stating it. None of them travels.

Minimum gambling ages recorded from official sources, checked 18 September 2026
JurisdictionAuthorityWhat the official source states
Great BritainGambling Commission18 “in most cases”, with the product exceptions set out above
MaltaMalta Gaming AuthorityTreats 18 as the legal minimum — stated obliquely, in a list of things players must never be encouraged to do
SwedenSpelinspektionen“Persons under the age of 18 are not permitted to gamble”; separately, “anyone under the age of 20 is not allowed to enter Casino Cosmopol”
NetherlandsKansspelautoriteitMinors are not permitted to gamble; the prohibition is stated in those terms rather than as a numeral
DenmarkSpillemyndighedenOperators must ensure that “children and young people under the age of 18 cannot access gambling”
Ontario, CanadaAlcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario“An individual under 19 years of age” may not play on a gaming site — unless at least 18 and there “solely for the purpose of purchasing a lottery ticket”
GibraltarGambling DivisionNo numeric minimum age established from any official page we could read
Isle of ManGambling Supervision CommissionLicensees must “prevent underage and excluded customers from accessing gambling”, with no number stated

Sweden’s 20 is a venue rule for entry to the state land-based casino, not a general gambling age.

Why age verification arrives bundled with identity checks

Being asked to prove who you are, when the question was your age, is not an operator being awkward. Date of birth is an identity attribute, and in Great Britain two separate instruments bite at the same moment.

The age duty
A social responsibility code provision — the three-limb rule set out above.
The identity duty
A licence condition requiring the licensee to obtain and verify a customer’s name, address and date of birth before the customer is permitted to gamble. The date of birth is where the two meet.

They are different instruments with different enforcement consequences, not one rule.

The Commission gives players three reasons a gambling company asks for identification: to check you are old enough, to check whether you have self-excluded, and to confirm your identity. That middle reason is why both checks tend to happen in one step.

Age verified before first deposit Age and identity checked together First identity request at withdrawal

No timescale is published: the Commission states that it cannot give one, that an electronic check may be instant while supplying documents takes longer, and that a customer cannot place a bet until they have been verified. What to do when a check stalls is covered on KYC and identity verification.

How age is checked, online and in person

No regulator page we read described age-assurance technology at a technical level. What each authority documents is the data or process it names, and those differ too much to merge.

  • Great Britain

    Names the data fields, not the method: name, address and date of birth, verified before the customer may gamble. The Commission says it does not specify which types of information businesses should ask for — a passport, driving licence or household bills are examples, not an official list.

  • Malta

    Pitched differently: operators must implement effective policies preventing minors from using the gaming service in any way, and those policies must include requiring the player to affirm they are of legal age before using it.

  • Denmark

    The player gives a name and civil registration number, usually at registration through the national MitID system, and the operator “must receive and verify your information within 30 days”. The regulator frames this as an anti-money-laundering duty, not an age check that must finish before play.

  • Netherlands

    The regulator’s 2026 research describes a model resting on identity registration and bank-account matching. It found participation by minors at licensed operators occurs virtually never, and no serious violations.

In person

Land-based and remote differences were documented for Great Britain, Sweden and Ontario, and not for Malta, Gibraltar or the Isle of Man.

  • “Think 25”. From 30 August 2024 the Commission replaced its earlier “Think 21” premises expectation with “Think 25”: staff must check anyone who appears under 25, across casinos, adult gaming centres, bingo premises, family entertainment centres and betting shops. The same decision removed an exemption from age-verification test purchasing for category A and B licensees in betting, bingo, family entertainment centre and adult gaming centre operations.
  • Casinos. A separate code provision requires a designated supervisor at each casino entrance, age checks using an acceptable form of photographic identification showing date of birth, and refusal of service where an adult is accompanied by a child or young person.
  • Venue rules above the general age. Entry to Casino Cosmopol in Sweden is closed to anyone under 20. Ontario prohibits an individual under 19 where the gaming site is a casino, “except in the course of employment”.

If someone under age has already gambled

What happens to stakes and winnings is set separately in each jurisdiction, and the answers genuinely differ.

Consequences of under-age play, as each official source states them
JurisdictionWhat the official source provides
Great BritainSection 83 of the Gambling Act 2005, “Return of stakes to children”, requires the licence holder to return money paid by the child or young person as soon as is reasonably practicable, and provides that the holder “may not give a prize to the child or young person”. It does not apply to “the use of a Category D gaming machine”, or to equal chance gaming at a licensed family entertainment centre
MaltaOn becoming aware a minor bypassed its policies, the operator must block the minor and restore the pre-play position, “returning any monies wagered and confiscating all winnings”
Isle of Man“The gambling wins and losses will be voided”, deposits are returned, and the account is closed. The regulator states the same principle for self-excluded players, so it is not an under-18 rule only
Ontario, CanadaIndividuals not eligible to play “are not eligible for prizes”, excepting Self-Excluded and Centrally Self-Excluded Persons. The page does not state what becomes of their deposits, and neither does this one

Great Britain returns stakes and withholds the prize; Malta returns wagers and confiscates winnings; the Isle of Man voids losses as well as wins, making the player whole. Three answers to one question.

The Commission’s guidance also references offences at sections 46 and 47 of the Gambling Act 2005 of inviting, causing or permitting a child or young person to gamble, or to enter certain premises. We read the regulator’s description of those sections, not the sections themselves.

What we could not verify

Two further limits. Several Great Britain pages behind this one carry old dates — the consumer age guidance was last updated 3 June 2021 — and a rule can change without the consumer page catching up. And the material outside Great Britain rests on a single research pass that was not independently re-checked. See our methodology.

Primary sources

Each link below goes to the issuing authority’s own website. Where a page could not be retrieved by our automated checks, that is stated rather than hidden.

  • Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario 3. Prohibiting Access to Designated Groups (Registrar's Standards)
    Land-based and charitable-gaming construction: under 19 for a casino, under 18 for a cGaming site. The page does not define minor and sets out no identity-verification procedure. No last-updated date is shown.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario (AGCO) Eligibility – Prohibiting Access to Designated Groups and Player Account Management
    Confirmed to contain no rule on when age must be verified relative to account activation, and nothing on what happens to an ineligible player's deposits.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • DCMS (UK Government) Government response to the consultation on the minimum age to play National Lottery games Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission Gambling and young people
    Gives the general minimum age as 18 with the Commission's own hedge 'In most cases' — that hedge is what signals the product-by-product variation and should be preserved.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission Guidance to licensing authorities – Part 21: Protection of children and young persons
    Read only in part during the original research.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission Guidance to licensing authorities — Part 16: Age restrictions
    Guidance to licensing authorities, so land-based in focus. It confirms a minimum age of 18 for category A, B and C machines and states there is 'no minimum age for players of category D machines'. It gives no age figures for the National Lottery, society lotteries, football pools, casino, betting, bingo or remote gambling.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission LCCP licence condition 17.1.1 – Customer identity verification
    The condition page displays no "last updated" date, so its currency cannot be asserted. It is a remote licence condition and does not, on its face, govern land-based premises. The verification pass also found that the dossier's "paragraph 1, verbatim" quotation is only the first sentence of paragraph 1.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission LCCP social responsibility code provision 3.2.1 – Casinos SR code (access to gambling by children and young persons)
    No last-updated date is displayed.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission LCCP social responsibility code provision 3.2.11 – remote SR code (age verification)
    No last-updated date is displayed. The verification pass corrected the quotation: the sub-items are lettered (a), (b), (c) — not numbered — and limb (c) reads "gamble with the licensee using either their own money or any free bet or bonus".
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission New age and identity verification rules – changes to the LCCP from Tuesday 7 May
    Published 3 May 2019. This is a news article describing a change, not the current consolidated rule. The verification pass could not reproduce any mention of a previous 72-hour verification window on this page; that detail must not be attributed to it.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission Public register of gambling businesses, personal licences, premises and regulatory actions
    Links five registers — gambling businesses, personal licences, regulatory actions, public statements, premises — plus a Freedom of Information item. No last-updated date, and the page states no retention period, contrary to what search-engine summaries claim.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission Register of gambling businesses (search)
    The search field is labelled 'Search by business name, trading name, domain name or account number', so domain search is officially supported. Two caveats the register states or demonstrates itself: 'Domain names and trading names are provided by the gambling business' — the domain list is self-reported, not compiled by the regulator — and no Commission page defines what the status values (Active, Expired, Forfeited, Lapsed, Pending, Revoked, Surrendered, Suspended) actually mean. The search is form-driven: there is no link that runs it for you.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Commission Summer 2023 consultation response – Strengthening age verification in premises
    Records the move from Think 21 to Think 25, in force 30 August 2024. Casinos are within scope of the change, confirmed on a targeted re-fetch.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Supervision Commission Gambling Supervision Commission – gambling (home)
    No last-updated date is shown on this page.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Supervision Commission Player Protection Principles of the GSC
    Player-fund protection here is limited to recreational gamblers, and one of the six permitted mechanisms is an open-ended other mechanisms, so the strength of protection varies by operator and the register does not show which mechanism an operator uses. No last-updated date is shown.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Gambling Supervision Commission Secondary gambling legislation (Isle of Man)
    Hard to read reliably and partly self-contradictory. Every regulation title is a graphic with an empty alt attribute, so the titles are recoverable only from image filenames and link targets, not from page text, and they are invisible to screen readers. On the Exclusions Regulations the page's own title graphic says 2010 while its link target says 2009. Several other links are mismatched or malformed. AML/CFT instruments are not listed here; they sit on a separate AML/CFT Legislation page. No last-updated date is shown.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • HM Government of Gibraltar — Finance Centre Remote Gambling (finance, gaming and regulations)
    Carries no legislative reference of its own and directs readers to the Gambling Division site.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • HM Government of Gibraltar — Gambling Division Gambling Division (Gibraltar) – home
    Sets out Gibraltar's three-part structure in the regulator's own words: the Licensing Authority who is the designated Minister, and the gambling regulator who is the Gambling Commissioner. No page on this site displays a last-updated date; the footer shows only a 2026 copyright.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • HM Government of Gibraltar — Gambling Division Guidance – Gambling Division (Gibraltar)
    Carries the regulator's own savings statement: the Codes of Practice issued under the previous Gambling Act remain in force until new Codes have been issued by the Gambling Commissioner. It also links a Remote Technical and Operating Standards document that was not independently fetched and must not be cited as verified.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Isle of Man Government Gambling Supervision Commission – legislation (gov.im)
    Rejected by a web application firewall ("The requested URL was rejected"). The Commission's own domain, isleofmangsc.com, served successfully and is the better route.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · bot-blocked
  • Kansspelautoriteit 10 tips for gambling safely
    The regulator's own English source for the duty on operators to make contact when a player exceeds a monthly deposit limit of 350 euro, or 150 euro for players aged 18 to 24. That contact duty is a different mechanism from the net deposit ceiling in the responsible-play policy rule; the two are often conflated.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Kansspelautoriteit English — Kansspelautoriteit, the Netherlands Gambling Authority
    The regulator describes itself here as an independent administrative body supervising gambling services, established in 2012. The English section is thin: the Cruks duties, the complaints route, advertising rules and licensing policy exist only in Dutch.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Kansspelautoriteit Netherlands Gambling Authority — English landing page
    A second English entry point reached from the site's language switcher; its content overlaps the other English page.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Kansspelautoriteit (Netherlands Gambling Authority) Onderzoek deelname legale online kansspelen door minderjarigen afgerond: alleen bij uitzondering mogelijk
    Dutch-language original; there is no official English version of this page.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Kansspelautoriteit (Netherlands Gambling Authority) Veilig online gokken (safe online gambling)
    HTTP 403 Forbidden to automated access, independently reproduced. This Dutch consumer page probably carries the age and verification wording, but none of it is verified.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · bot-blocked
  • Laws of Gibraltar Gambling Act 2005 – consolidated text, version 09/02/2021 (PDF)
    Retrieved but returned unparseable PDF binary. The minimum-age section was never read, so no Gibraltar age may be published.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · uncertain
  • Laws of Gibraltar Gambling Act 2005 – version 09/02/2021
    Serves navigation and footer only; no legislative text was returned. The text appears to be delivered as a PDF download.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · js-only
  • Laws of Gibraltar Gambling Act 2025 – version 23/03/2026
    Serves an HTML shell only — title and version date, no legislative text. The page also carries a banner reading "This version is out of date". Gibraltar's minimum gambling age, the commencement of this Act and the fate of the Gambling Act 2005 are all unestablished; do not state any of them.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · js-only
  • legislation.gov.uk (The National Archives) Gambling Act 2005, section 83: Return of stakes to children Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Malta Gaming Authority Player Protection — Malta Gaming Authority (Licensee Hub)
    States that once a player has exhausted the internal process, operators 'must offer the opportunity to refer any dispute to a registered ADR entity', and names the Player Protection Directive (Directive 2 of 2018) as the governing instrument. The licensee's own 'Player Support team' here is a different thing from the MGA's 'Player Support Unit'. This page is also the only place on any fetched MGA page where the figure 18 appears, and it appears inside a marketing-conduct rule rather than as a stated statutory minimum age. No last-updated date.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Malta Gaming Authority Player Protection Directive (Directive 2 of 2018) — full text PDF
    Downloaded successfully (about 650 kB) but the text is not machine-extractable: the PDF uses subset-embedded fonts with hex glyph IDs and no usable ToUnicode mapping. No clause of it is cited anywhere here, and its current version could not be confirmed from the document itself. Self-exclusion durations, cooling-off periods, complaint timeframes and any age provision sit inside this document and need a human reader.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Rijksoverheid (Government of the Netherlands) Fundamentele koerswijziging kansspelbeleid
    Dutch-language original. The raising of the minimum age to 21 is framed on the page as an intention scoped to the riskiest gambling products, with a bill only expected to be drafted from late 2025. Enactment status could not be re-checked and must not be asserted.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Rijksoverheid (Government of the Netherlands) Maatregelen ingegaan voor betere bescherming spelers van online kansspelen
    Dutch-language original. The figures on this page are deposit limits by age band, not minimum ages — do not present them as age limits.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Spelinspektionen Gambling Act (2018:1138) — unofficial English translation, amended through SFS 2026:1077 (PDF)
    Unofficial translation: the regulator states the Swedish original prevails where the versions differ. The filename encodes the amending statute, so this URL breaks when the translation is reissued — the previous dated filename already returns 404.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Spelinspektionen Responsible Gambling and duty of care — Spelinspektionen (English)
    States an 18 minimum for gambling and a 20 minimum for entry to Casino Cosmopol. The figure 20 was not found in the Gambling Act text, so its legal basis is unestablished and must not be attributed to that Act.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Spelinspektionen Rules and Regulation — index of Swedish gambling rules in English Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Spelinspektionen Translated laws — applicable laws and regulations in English
    Carries the regulator's own disclaimer that its English translations are unofficial and the Swedish version prevails.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Spillemyndigheden Helpful advice for people who gamble
    Consumer guidance only. It mentions operators keeping a 90-day gambling history and enforcing deposit limits, but that operator duty was not confirmed on any licence-requirements page and should not be stated as a rule. No last-updated date is shown.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable
  • Spillemyndigheden Why do gambling operators ask for documentation?
    The consumer-facing explanation of identity verification in Denmark, including temporary accounts and the limits on them before verification is complete. No last-updated date is shown.
    Checked 18 September 2026 · reachable